Skip to the content

Duke of Edinburgh

The Duke of Edinburgh's Hillary Award is the world's leading youth achievement award and is available to all 14–24 year olds.  The Award has three levels, each progressively more challenging.

The purpose of the award is for young people to challenge themselves by developing a skill, getting physically active, giving service to their communities and undertaking adventurous journeys in the outdoors.

Through regular, committed activity in each of these areas (sometimes outside of their comfort zone), young people will develop self-confidence and resilience - life skills they will take with them into adulthood.

How does it work?

There are three levels to the Award - Bronze, Silver and Gold  - and each level has four specific sections that participants need to complete activities in (plus a fifth at Gold level):

  • Service
  • Physical Recreation
  • Skills
  • Adventurous Journey
  • Residential Project (Gold only)

Students choose an activity for each of the first three sections and participate in this regularly over a period of 3-12 months (depending on the level of the award). They also undertake 3 steps of the adventurous journey - a training day, a practice journey and a qualifier journey. 

At Kristin, all of our Year 10 students can now participate at Bronze level. Our Year 10 camp gives students the opportunity to complete the training and practice elements of the adventurous journey section. Senior students can participate at Bronze, Silver and Gold levels if they so wish. If you have not completed a bronze or silver award, there are also opportunities to participate in Silver and Gold Direct

Come and visit Kristin

Step inside our gates and see for yourself what makes Kristin so unique. We invite you to take a tour and observe a typical school day. Take the opportunity to engage personally with student guides and staff.